Alexander Schimpf

The musical publications called Alexander Alexander Schimpf an exceptional pianist early on in his career. In 2020, his long awaited first CD record with Orchestra was published by CAvi music, who have previously documented his long cooperation with Bayerische Kammerphilharmonie. For this transparent recording of the Mozart Pianoconcerts KV 413-415 with varying string cast of the string section (under concert master Gabriel Adorján), Alexander Schimpf added his stylistically sure own cadences, which made his personal involvement with Mozart audible in a special way.

After success in renowned competitions (German musicians competition 2008), Vienna (1st price in the International Beethoven-competition 2009) and Cleveland/USA (1st price Cleveland International Piano Competition 2011), Alexander Schimpf was able to establish himself as a sought after soloist on multiple continents. Despite his meteoric international success, he shows a remarkable calm. As Alexander Schimpf says himself: „I am in no hurry with these things; they should receive the time that they need.”

His artistic development is founded, the same as his interpretations, on a demand of consistent expressionism. In addition to his contest with the classical repertoires Alexander Schimp regularly supports modern and contemporary music; in the scope of festivals of contemporary music he cooperates often with composers of contemporary music from Europe, Asia and America and, in the last years, worked on ca. 30 debut performances of solo and chamber music works.

Born in Göttingen in 1981, Alexander Schimpf graduated from his studies with Wolfgang Manz and Bernd Glemser. Later on, Pianists Cécile Ousset and Janina Fialkowska were his patrons. Since 2009, under the labels of GENUIN and Oehms classics, three solo-CDs with, amongst others, the works of Beethoven, Schubert, Brahms, Debussy, Ravel and Skrjabin have been published. In 2013, Alexander Schimpf was awarded the Bavarian arts support price.

Invitations to piano evenings and solo performances with orchestras led him to perform in multiple German cities (among them Gasteig München, Konzerthaus Berlin, Alte Oper Frankfurt, Kölner Philharmonie, NDR Hannover, Beethovenhaus Bonn, Heidelberger Frühling, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele) as well as the Zankel Hall/Carnegie Hall in New York, Auditorium du Louvre and Salle Cortot in Paris, Konzerthaus Vienna, the Marinskij- concert hall in St. Petersburg as well as the Auditorio Nacional in Madrid. Radio recordings of his concerts were made for, among others, BR, NDR, SWR, ORF and Radio France.

His extensive tenure in the United States brought him work as a soloist in multiple symphonic orchestras, including invitations to piano evenings to New York City, Washington D.C., Boston, Chicago, Indianapolis and others. In addition to performances in most European countries, he performed in China, Taiwan and Vietnam as well as multiple times in South America.

As chamber musician, he worked together with violinist Christian Tetzlaff, viola player Nils Mönkemeyer, cellist Julian Steckel, baritone Thomas E. Bauer and the Armida Quartett.

In 2016 he was called to be professor of piano to the HMTM Hannover.

Filed under

Alexander Schimpf

Von der Fachpresse wurde Alexander Schimpf schon früh zu den Ausnahmepianisten der Spitzenklasse gezählt. 2020 erscheint nun seine langersehnte erste CD-Einspielung mit Orchester bei CAvi music, die seine bereits langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit der Bayerischen Kammerphilharmonie dokumentiert. Für diese transparente Aufnahme der Mozart Klavierkonzerte KV 413-415 in beweglicher Streicherbesetzung (unter Leitung des Konzertmeisters Gabriel Adorján) steuert Alexander Schimpf stilsichere eigene Kadenzen bei, wodurch sein persönlicher Zugang zu Mozart in besonderer Weise hörbar wird.

Nach bedeutenden Wettbewerbserfolgen in Bonn (Deutscher Musikwettbewerb 2008), Wien (1. Preis Internationaler Beethoven-Wettbewerb 2009) und Cleveland/USA (1. Preis Cleveland International Piano Competition 2011) konnte sich Alexander Schimpf als gefragter Solist auf mehreren Kontinenten etablieren. Trotz seines schnellen internationalen Erfolges legt er dabei eine wohltuende Gelassenheit an den Tag. Alexander Schimpf sagt selbst: „Ich habe es nicht allzu eilig mit diesen Dingen, sie sollten stets die Zeit bekommen, die sie brauchen.“ 

Seinen künstlerischen Werdegang gründet er wie seine Interpretationen auf dem Anspruch einer dauerhaften Aussagekraft. Neben seiner Auseinandersetzung mit dem klassischen Repertoire setzt Alexander Schimpf sich regelmäßig für die Musik der Moderne und Gegenwart ein; er arbeitete im Rahmen von Festivals für zeitgenössische Musik häufig mit Komponist/-innen aus Europa, Asien und Amerika und wirkte in den vergangenen Jahren an ca. 30 Uraufführungen von Solo- und Kammermusikwerken mit.

Geboren in Göttingen (1981), absolvierte Alexander Schimpf seine Studien u.a. bei Wolfgang Manz und Bernd Glemser und wurde später von den Pianistinnen Cécile Ousset und Janina Fialkowska maßgeblich gefördert. Seit 2009 sind bei den Labels GENUIN und OehmsClassics drei Solo-CDs u.a. mit Werken von Beethoven, Schubert, Brahms, Debussy, Ravel und Skrjabin erschienen. 2013 wurde Alexander Schimpf in München mit dem Bayerischen Kunstförderpreis ausgezeichnet.

Einladungen zu Klavierabenden und solistischen Auftritten mit Orchestern führten ihn in zahlreiche deutsche Städte (u. a. Gasteig München, Konzerthaus Berlin, Alte Oper Frankfurt, Kölner Philharmonie, NDR Hannover, Beethovenhaus Bonn, Heidelberger Frühling, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele) sowie in die Zankel Hall/Carnegie Hall in New York, Auditorium du Louvre und Salle Cortot in Paris, Konzerthaus Wien, den Marinskij-Konzertsaal St. Petersburg sowie das Auditorio Nacional in Madrid. Rundfunkmitschnitte seiner Konzerte entstanden u.a. für BR, NDR, SWR, ORF und Radio France.

Im Rahmen seiner ausgedehnten Tätigkeit in den Vereinigten Staaten arbeitete er als Solist zahlreicher dortiger Symphonieorchester, außerdem wurde er zu Klavierabenden u.a. nach New York City, Washington D.C., Boston, Chicago und Indianapolis eingeladen. Neben Auftritten in den meisten europäischen Ländern konzertierte er in China, Taiwan und Vietnam sowie mehrfach in Südamerika.

Als Kammermusiker arbeitete er u. a. mit dem Geiger Christian Tetzlaff, dem Bratscher Nils Mönkemeyer, dem Cellisten Julian Steckel, dem Bariton Thomas E. Bauer und dem Armida Quartett zusammen.

2016 wurde er als Professor für Klavier an die HMTM Hannover berufen.